Friday, December 9, 2016

Hunted by Evangeline Anderson [Review]

 Hunted by Evangeline Anderson
Hunted (Brides of the Kindred #2) by Evangeline Anderson
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 1, 2016

Brides of the Kindred
1. Claimed
2. HuntedKindle
3. Sought
4. Found
5. Revealed
6. Pursued
7. Exiled
8. Shadowed
9. Chained
10. Divided
11. Devoured
12. Enhanced
13. Cursed
14. Enslaved
14.5. Mastering the Mistress
15. Targeted
16. Forgotten
17. Switched

Evangeline Anderson
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A desperate girl on the run with nowhere to hide... A warrior who has made a vow never to claim a bride... Sophia Waterhouse is being Hunted and the only man who can save her is the one she fears the most...

Sophia Waterhouse has always been afraid of needles and vampires so there’s no way she wants anything to do with a modern day Count Dracula—even if he does come wrapped in the package of a huge Kindred warrior with blond hair and ice blue eyes. She’s only on the Kindred Mothership to participate in her sister Liv’s wedding and that’s all.

Sylvan is a Tranq Kindred who has made a sacred vow never to call a bride. After a devastating rejection on his home planet, his heart is a block of ice no one can melt—or so he thinks until he meets Sophia.

When their ship is forced down in the middle of a rugged mountain range Sophia and Sylvan are stranded. Running for their lives they have only each other to depend on. Will they give in to the intense attraction between them or will the evil hunting Sophia take its toll? You’ll have to read Brides of the Kindred Book 2—Hunted to find out.
Thoughts on Hunted: It's been quite a while since I read book 1 in this series and, well, I liked this book but I REALLY wanted the know-it-all mate to a twin set to be taken down a peg or two. Not Kat. I liked her. The other one. Her sly attitude irritated me enough I wanted to see her put in her place.

But this is Sylvan and Sophia's story. They take their time coming to terms with their feelings. Quite a long time, in fact. I'm all for stories with slow burn, but the way those two danced around one another took it to new heights. Just suck it up and accept you have a few things to work out so you can get to the sexin' already!

Which isn't to say I didn't enjoy the foreplay. Sylvan certainly puts himself out there as far as making sure Sophia was, well, pleasured. He gives and gives and gives. It just takes him a while to allow her to reciprocate. Which I actually got, since she had such a phobia about the biting and he REALLY wanted to do that part.

Anywho. We got a little face time with Baird and Olivia. Kat and her twin hunks were set up nicely. Plus, there was the whole Xairn thing. That guy totally deserves some happy time after what he's forced to endure with his jerk of a dad.

Enjoyable, if a little slow at times. There's a big cast of characters here and it only looks to get bigger as the series progresses.

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Star Cruise: Rescue by Veronica Scott [Review]

 Star Cruise: Rescue by Veronica Scott
Star Cruise: Rescue (Sectors SF #8) by Veronica Scott
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Romancing the Stars bundle
Date read: June 30, 2016

Sectors SF
1. Wreck of the Nebula Dream
2. Escape from Zulaire
3. Mission to Mahjundar
4. Star Cruise: Marooned
5. Star Cruise: Outbreak
6. Lady of the Star Wind
7. Hostage to the Stars
8. Star Cruise: Rescue - Kindle

Veronica Scott
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When a shore leave excursion goes terribly wrong for Mira Gage, a member of the Nebula Zephyr's crew, Security Officer Clint Miltan races the clock to find her before the ship leaves orbit and abandons Mira to her fate. Clint's got more than a professional interest in Mira, but will he be able to save her from the aliens holding her prisoner?
Thoughts on Star Cruise: Rescue: I do enjoy the adventures these Special Forces soldiers get tangled up in. While I wish Mira and Clint's story could have been a little longer, I still got a kick out of the danger and aliens they came across.

That said, while Clint came through in the end for Mira, he wasn't all that stellar in the beginning. His desertion of her in the club drove her to do something she wouldn't have normally done and things went downhill from there. Good thing he stuck to his guns about looking for her or things would have ended much differently.

While this wasn't the strongest story in the series, I highly recommend this series as a whole. There's danger, romance, aliens, and more danger. It tickles my fancy on quite a few levels.

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Hard Core by Tess Oliver [Review]

 Hard Core by Tess Oliver
Hard Core by Tess Oliver
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 29, 2016

Tess Oliver
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon | Paperback | Kindle |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Ledger
Sometimes one good dose of trouble could turn your life around, put you on the right path. But I'd taken the opposite side of the forked road and headed off looking for even more trouble, like a junkie constantly searching for the next high. Never would I have guessed that turn would lead me to her.
I couldn't stop thinking about her. She was an angel, a hard core, bone-fide angel and in her short life, she'd already had a taste of hell.

Jacy
Despair. Heartbreak. Silence. That was all I'd grown to know, until he showed up next door. The handsome, tattooed stranger had the kind of eyes that were hard to look away from, and he gazed at me as if we'd been friends or even lovers in a different life. He looked at me as if he knew me, and suddenly I had this flash of feeling as if I was right where I was supposed to be.
Thoughts on Hard Core: In all honesty, I bought this book for the cover. Because HAI, TATTOOS. I would have been happy to stare at it all day. In an excellent twist, the book was more than just eye candy. It's pretty darn good.

(Not that I expected it wouldn't be given how I've enjoyed other Tess Oliver books in the past, but it's always nice to find something both pretty to look at AND fun to read.)

So. Jacy and Ledger. She's picking up the pieces of her life, he's trying to figure out where he fits into the world outside. They're both floundering and they both find comfort in the other. Which is good seeing as how this is a romance. While I didn't necessarily agree with Ledger keeping his secret for as long as he did, I can still understand why he hesitated to tell Jacy the truth.

Enjoyable with some smokin' sexy times, my soft spot for reformed bad boys who find someone whose damaged edges fit with theirs is alive and kicking. Tattoos do it for me, man. I make no apologies.

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Top Off Tuesday - Abs.

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

All those glistening, golden abs are just calling to you, aren't they?

 The Seduction of Elliot McBride by Jennifer Ashley
The Seduction of Elliot McBride (Mackenzies & McBrides #5) by Jennifer Ashley
PROPERLY IMPROPER…AND DARING TO LOVE…

Juliana St. John was raised to be very proper. After a long engagement, her wedding day dawns—only for Juliana to find herself jilted at the altar.

Fleeing the mocking crowd, she stumbles upon Elliot McBride, the tall, passionate Scot who was her first love. His teasing manner gives her an idea, and she asks Elliot to save her from an uncertain future—by marrying her…

After escaping brutal imprisonment, Elliot has returned to Scotland a vastly wealthy yet tormented man. Now Juliana has her hands full restoring his half-ruined manor in the Scottish Highlands and trying to repair the broken heart of the man some call irredeemably mad. Though beautiful and spirited, Juliana wonders if that will be enough to win a second chance at love.

Monday, December 5, 2016

Thunder Road by Sierra Dean [Review]

 Thunder Road by Sierra Dean
Thunder Road (Rain Chaser #1) by Sierra Dean
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: July 4, 2016

Rain Chaser
1. Thunder RoadKindle

Sierra Dean
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Being Chosen was supposed to be a gift.

That’s what Tallulah Corentine’s parents told her when they handed her over to the Rain Chasers on her seventh birthday. It was an honor to be born with a destiny, to be hand selected by the gods before taking her first breath. She should be overjoyed.

Twenty years later, Tallulah is still waiting for the gift. She might have the power of the storm at her fingertips, but she’s spent her whole adult life living under a cloud.

A cross-country trip to find the wayward son of Seth, god of the storm, turns into a fight for her life when she dupes Death out of a valuable treasure. With only a wily con man, a dangerously handsome bad-luck priest, and a lot of lightning to help her, can she deliver the package and keep herself out of an early grave?

Or will Seth be looking for a new Rain Chaser before it’s all over?
Thoughts on Thunder Road: This book gave me EVERYTHING I wanted in an urban fantasy and then some. Sassy, snarky heroine whose awesome ability comes with a bit of a downside? CHECK! Enigmatic bad-luck priest who comes with his own set of issues? CHECK! Wacky shenanigans with gods and monsters? CHECK!

If book two was available now, I'd be ALL OVER IT. Seriously. I really, really liked this book and want to see more of Tallulah and the sketchy promises/deals/interactions she gets into. Because that girl owes more than one deity and I can't imagine things will go easily for her down the road.

I'm digging on the old gods vibe. I'm loving how attached to their cars both Tallulah and Cade were. And I get why. I loved how Tallulah could pack away meals. I just... I LIKED THE ENTIRE BOOK, OKAY? It worked for me.

Here's to hoping we get to see Tallulah battling the odds again soon. *whispers* I really liked the book. I totally want more.

Sunday, December 4, 2016

RtP Week in Review (12/04/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
  • Currently reading 
    • Enigma by Lindsay Buroker
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • GUESS WHAT'S COMING SOON!!! That's right! Bout of Books will be swinging around in a MONTH!

Saturday, December 3, 2016

Blog Housekeeping [76]


It's that time again! Time to polish up your blog until it shines!

POP QUIZ: When was the last time you backed up your blog?

Update:
  • review archive - are you responsible for sites other than your own? Don't forget about those
  • sidebar - check for buttons or links for events that have ended. Have any new events coming up? Now's the time to add them.
  • reading challenges - update your progress, add links to challenges where you can link up. If you're a challenge host, do you try to comment on linked reviews? Now's your chance!
  • blogrolls -  clean 'em up!
  • crosspost - do you crosspost to Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, Library Thing? Don't forget to add your reviews to Netgalley or Edelwiess for those ARCs.
  • check your subscription and social media links - if this isn't something that you normally check, now's an excellent time to make sure it's doing what it should be doing. 
  • check your static pages (About, Review Policy, etc) for outdated information, broken links, etc.
  • review your profiles - when was the last time you updated your Goodreads or Facebook profiles? Is everything up to date?
Get ahead:
  • December has arrived! Have you been keeping up?
Misc:
  • respond to review requests and other bloggy emails
  • check your spam folder - legitimate emails can sometimes slip through, catch them now.
  • check the spam filter on the blog - get rid of the spam! save the legits!
  • make the rounds - check back on blogs where you left comments, maybe spread a few new comments around like candy.
Did you do everything that applies to you? Well done! Now...

BACK UP YOUR BLOG!
Tutorial |

The Next Blog Housekeeping is scheduled for 1/7! I hope to see you there!