Saturday, March 24, 2018

Immortal Glamour by Colleen Gleason [Review]

 Immortal Glamour by Colleen Gleason
Immortal Glamour (Gotham Hollywood) by Colleen Gleason
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review as part of the Taming the Vampire anthology
Date read: November 20, 2016

Gotham Hollywood
Immortal Glamour - Kindle

Colleen Gleason
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Hollywood, California: The last time DEA Agent Lyla Harris saw Gunnar Malkensen, the super-sexy stuntman/vampire nearly killed her--through no fault of his own. But now she needs his help, and she's willing to do anything to gain access to him--including taking the place of his weekly call-girl.
Thoughts on Immortal Glamour: It's been a while since I read either the Draculia or Vampire Hunter series, so it took a bit to remember the ins and outs of this world. But once I did...Yesssss. Vampires and hunters work for me. Especially when the vampire in question is trying to do the right thing even when it causes him literal physical pain.

This story also introduced a new facet to this world, one that I'm curious about. Plus, there was the whole Chas/Sabrina thing. Mysterious happenings are mysterious, are they not?

Basically, this was a nice hook for a new series that builds on a world already created. I liked it.

Amber's Ace by Taryn Kincaid [Review]

 Amber's Ace by Taryn Kincaid
Amber's Ace (Black Hills Wolves #51) by Taryn Kincaid
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 5, 2017

Black Hills Wolves
(Find the complete series listing on Goodreads)
4. Wolf's Song
41. Another Chance
51. Amber's AceKindle

Taryn Kincaid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A Black Hills Wolves Matchmaker Story...

Riley Morgan, the all-star ace pitcher of the world champion New York Kings, has long hid his secret from his adoring fans and the clamoring metropolitan press. But when Riley is distracted on the mound by a long-distance mate call and the sweet voice from home he couldn't possibly have heard, he suffers a freak, career-ending injury that sends him back to his South Dakota wolf pack to heal.

Stolen from her family along with her twin sister years earlier, Amber Northridge was held prisoner and abused by the crazed former alpha and his henchmen since she was a teen, managing to survive through resourcefulness and wits. Now, at long last the pack has located them and set them free.

Returned home to Los Lobos, Amber recognizes the hunky baseball player she's seen on TV as her mate, but she doubts she can be with any man after all she has suffered.

Can the romantic machinations of Los Lobos' four renowned matchmakers unite the damaged pair?
Thoughts on Amber's Ace: A damaged pitcher and a broken woman. In other words, Riley and Amber have a few hurdles to get around before they can reach a point where they're both all-in on that mating thing. In my opinion, Amber's issues are the weightier of the two. Which isn't to say Riley has an easy time coming to terms with losing his career, but Amber was held a literal captive for a large portion of her life and she has some WALLS to break down when it comes to her mindset about men.

(As tough as Amber has it, I think her sister is even worse off. Poor lady.)

The Northridge family has had more than their fare share of hard knocks in life, but the siblings are slowly coming into their own. Amber and Riley are well suited once she learns to trust him and he trusts her with the secret he's been carrying around. Only Garnet is left to find someone to support her when things get tough.

Friday, March 23, 2018

When Love Comes Back by Christi Snow [Review]

 When Love Comes Back by Christi Snow
When Love Comes Back (When the Mission Ends #5) by Christi Snow
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: March 20, 2018

When the Mission Ends
0.5. Before the Mission Begins
1. Operation: Endgame
2. Operation: Endeavor
3. Operation: Endurance
4. When Love Intrudes
5. When Love Comes BackKindle

Christi Snow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
He was her biggest mistake.

She was his biggest regret.

Once upon a time Felicia Parks and Gage Winston were each other’s everything. But one drunken night, Gage ruined it all and broke Felicia’s heart.

That was a long time ago and they’ve both moved on, never expecting to see one another again.

But as the new wing commander at the local Air Force base, Gage finds something on this assignment that he never expected...his first love.

The problem...she’s in love with someone else.

Fate can be a lover’s best friend, but karma can be a vengeful enemy....

And a dangerous obsession threatens it all.
Thoughts on When Love Comes Back: Second chance romances. Man, they can pull at the heartstrings. Given what Gage did to ruin things between him and Felicia the first time, those heartstrings took a lot to get pulled. Seriously, dude, what happened in the past wasn't cool and you're just lucky Felicia is a forgiving soul.

I guess it helps that he was also genuinely contrite about the way things went down. And for all his faults, he was trying to be a good dad and he figured out exactly what he'd lost when he did what he did.

But enough of that introspective mushy stuff. Let's talk about Felicia and Gage in the here and now. Felicia's in a pretty serious relationship, but Gage's arrival throws things all out of whack. And all those FEELINGS come back. Which does not bode well for things between her and her current squeeze.

To throw even a little more tension into an already tense situation, someone is targeting Felicia and...wait. Did I mention that Gage is Felicia's current honey's boss-man? That makes for some awkward moments. Anywho. Felicia's got a bullseye on her back and her men have to (sort of) team up to keep her safe.


Fun, sexy, full of second chances and a hint of danger. Okay. Maybe more than a hint. *thumbs up*

Thursday, March 22, 2018

The Wolf Lord by Ann Aguirre [Review]

 The Wolf Lord by Ann Aguirre
The Wolf Lord (Ars Numina #3) by Ann Aguirre
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: March 1, 2018

Ars Numina
1. The Leopard King
2. The Demon Prince
3. The Wolf LordKindle
4. The Shadow Warrior
5. The War Priest
6. The Jaguar Knight

Ann Aguirre
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Roguish. Reckless. Unreliable.
Raff Pineda has a certain reputation among the Animari. He’s the one to call if there’s a party starting, not the man to rely on when all hell breaks loose. Though he’s nominally the leader of the Pine Ridge pack, he defers to his second on the tough calls. Raff prefers to live fast and hard and keep his heart hidden, but a certain Eldritch princess won’t fall for his usual tricks, and their contract political marriage may be anything but convenient.

Ambitious. Elegant. Isolated.
Princess Thalia Talfayen may not have been raised by a witch in a tower, but she’s spent the last few decades locked up for a failed insurrection. Plotting and scheming comes naturally to her; personal connections do not. Since she’s come this far in her unstoppable quest to claim the silver throne, she won’t hesitate to do whatever it takes to unite her people, even if that means giving herself to the big bad wolf…
Thoughts on The Wolf Lord: Oh my GOODNESS, I love this series. Much like Raff and Thalia's romance, the world is a little rough and tumble with a dash of elegant technology thrown in to keep us on our toes. I kinda love it.

Speaking of Raff and Thalia, on the surface these two area as different as night and day. Raff is the party boy with a reputation for recklessness. Thalia is the icy, untouchable princess with a driving force to unite the Eldritch houses. Thalia's offer of marriage to Raff was a desperate gamble to secure allies for herself and I don't think anybody really thought she and Raff would end up being such a perfect match.

Especially not Raff. But then, Raff has a tendency to think pretty poorly of himself thanks to a lifetime of being told he's less than nothing by his father. In truth, Raff is quick and intuitive and once he gives his word to someone he stands by them through everything.

Raff teaches Thalia to let her hair down and Thalia gives Raff the confidence to start believing he's not the massive let-down his father convinced him he is. (As an aside, Raff's issues intrigued me. The guy rules his pack, but he doesn't think much of himself. The self doubt his father planted in him about his own worth makes him slow to see that it's him and his actions to and for his people that are what his people respect and love. *HEART EYES* Oh, Raff.)

I've loved every one of the books in this series and I'm EAGER to watch the next story unfold.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

All In by Susan Hayes [Review]

 All In by Susan Hayes
All In (The Drift #2) by Susan Hayes
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download 06/01/17
Date read: June 4, 2017

The Drift
1. Double Down
2. All InPaperback | Kindle
3. Wild Card
4. Three of a Kind

Susan Hayes
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When love is the prize, the only way to win is to go all in.

The Resource Wars may have ended, but for the cyborgs created to fight in them, the battle for acceptance is far from over. Former soldiers Toro and Jaeger have been on the move since they left military service. They’re looking for more than their next payday, they want to find a place to call home.

Cynder Armas co-owns the Nova Club with her two cyborg siblings. The club is more than her business; it’s her home, filled with everyone she cares about. Life on The Drift isn’t easy, but it is profitable, and it keeps her too busy to dwell on the losses in her past.

When these three battle-scarred warriors meet, there’s no denying their attraction, but it takes more than a spark to keep a fire burning. To hold onto each other, they’ll have to find a way to let go of their old lives and embrace the future, together.
Thoughts on All In: I'm on a major cyborg kick right now and this one hit the spot in SO MANY WAYS. Two sexy men bringing their A-game to the lady who fires them up? YES, PLEASE. I'd be down for just that, but the fact they're all cyborgs dials it up to awesome heights. (I seriously can't get enough of the cyborgs. MOAR PLEASE!)

I liked Toro and Jaeger. Toro's not the smoothest cyborg in the Drift and he has some self-esteem issues he needs to work out (stupid corporations and their stupid fiddling with cyborgs. Those guys can suck it!). Jaeger has confidence, but he's haunted by the lives he was forced to take during the war. Those two are sort of holding one another up and making things work, but it isn't until they cross paths with Cynder that they find their new purpose in life.

Buuuut, Cynder is a little gun-shy when it comes to romance and physicality. Like Jaeger, the things she was forced to do as a soldier haunt her. She's not interested in tangling with two hunky cyborgs even if they set her panties on fire. Or so she tells herself.

A bit of baggage, a little danger, and three hearts on the line. Cyborgs, man. I just love 'em.

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Drawing Dead by S.M. Reine [Review]

 Drawing Dead by S.M. Reine
Drawing Dead (Dana McIntyre Must Die #1) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 19, 2017

Dana McIntyre Must Die
1. Drawing Dead - Paperback | Kindle
2. Kill Game
3. Cashing Out
4. Suicide Queen

S.M. Reine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The vampire slayer is turning into a vampire? Over her dead body.

Dana McIntyre has been bitten by a master vampire. She's infected with the venom. And after killing hundreds of vampires to keep Las Vegas safe, she'd rather die than turn.

There might be a cure. But the only way to get it is through Nissa Royal, a vampire with close ties to the masters of Las Vegas. Nissa is dangerous -- too dangerous to be allowed to live, much less work alongside.

But if Dana dies, vampires win Vegas. If she doesn't die, she becomes one of the bloodless. The cure's her only chance. In this deadly game of hold 'em, Dana's drawing dead, and whatever happens next, there's no changing her losing hand. Dana only knows one thing: If she's going down, she's taking as many vampires as possible on her way out…
Thoughts on Drawing Dead: Dana's no holds barred approach to, uhh, everything, is sort of like a train wreck you can't look away from. She's the textbook definition of a hot mess and I don't know whether to cheer her on or cringe as she throws herself headfirst into danger again and again.

And again.

And again.

The woman is described as a tank and she's doing her level best to make people see her that way. She's a force of nature. An undead force of nature, now, but still.

So. Dana has a few issues. She's a little bloodthirsty, a lot reckless, and she's not good talking out her feelings. Which puts a bit of a strain on her relationship with her wife. Frankly, Penny's been a champ for putting up with Dana's obsessions as long as she has. Which isn't to say I don't get where Dana's coming from. She's the type of person who blames herself when she can't protect those she loves and a few issues in her past have her beating herself up something fierce.

BUT...her friends and colleagues and Penny have been patient. And Dana has a hard time seeing her own worth. This lends itself to a blow-up or two because those around her DO think she's worth keeping around.

Anyway. Vampires. Vegas. Not so nice things happening to not so nice people. And one vamp who looks at Dana with something like hero worship. Which is either funny or scary depending on how you look at it.

Vegas, kiddos. Dana's there and she's not going to let things fall apart. Maybe. You know, if she can get through the purging and bodily fluids part.

Monday, March 19, 2018

Spotlight On...Marriage of Inconvenience by Penny Reid

Marriage of Inconvenience, an all new romantic comedy standalone in the USA Today bestselling, Knitting in the City Series by Penny Reid, is available NOW!

There are three things you need to know about Kat Tanner (aka Kathleen Tyson. . . and yes, she is *that* Kathleen Tyson): 1) She’s determined to make good decisions, 2) She must get married ASAP, and 3) She knows how to knit.
Being a billionaire heiress isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. In fact, it sucks. Determined to live a quiet life, Kat Tanner changed her identity years ago and eschewed her family’s legacy. But now, Kat’s silver spoon past has finally caught up with her, and so have her youthful mistakes. To avoid imminent disaster, she must marry immediately; it is essential that the person she chooses have no romantic feelings for her whatsoever and be completely trustworthy.
Fortunately, she knows exactly who to ask. Dan O’Malley checks all the boxes: single, romantically indifferent to her, completely trustworthy. Sure, she might have a wee little crush on Dan the Security Man, but with clear rules, expectations, and a legally binding contract, Kat is certain she can make it through this debacle with her sanity—and heart—all in one piece.
Except, what happens when Dan O’Malley isn’t as indifferent—or as trustworthy—as she thought?

Staring at his chin, because I couldn’t quite lift my eyes any higher, I cleared my throat. “Should we get ready for bed?”

“Sure,” he said, his voice a rumble. Dan’s eyes were on me, I felt the weight of them.

My hands came to the hem of my skirt and I hesitated, feeling winded for some reason. Sneaking a glance at him, I immediately wished I hadn’t. His gaze was watchful, but it was also unmistakably hot in a way that seemed at once both avaricious and accusatory. The vice tightened around my lungs.

Kiss him! Just freaking kiss him! You want numbered steps? Fine. You kiss him- check. He kisses you back- check. Then you make out- check. Check the boxes.

I licked my lips, balling my hands into fists at my sides again, preparing to follow my hasty list.

But then he said, “Undress me.”

My breath caught. On instinct, my eyes lifted and collided with his in much the same way our bodies had collided at the top of the stairs just moments ago. Jarring. Startling. Thrilling. This time I couldn’t look away because this time I was falling. He made no move to catch me.

“What? What did you say?”

His eyes narrowed, which served only to increase the intensity of his gaze from smolder to inferno. “Take my clothes off.”

I stared at him, licking my lips again, and shaking my head. That wasn’t one of my steps.

Lifting my chin, I moved to kiss him. He leaned to the side, evading me even as his eyes dropped to my mouth.

“Take off my shirt and I’ll give you a kiss.” He’d used his naughty-secret voice.

An explosion of heat erupted in my belly, and now I was hot all over. I couldn’t figure out if the heat was embarrassment or arousal or both.

He didn’t give me a chance to figure it out. His hands lifted and he undid his cuffs; then they moved to the top button of his shirt.

“You better take over,” he said darkly, “or else you’re not getting that kiss.”

Read Today!
Add to GoodReads:

Enter the Giveaway for a complete signed set of the USA Today bestselling Knitting in the City Series!

Meet Penny Reid:
Penny Reid is the USA Today Bestselling Author of the Winston Brothers and Knitting in the City series. When she’s not immersed in penning smart romances, Penny works in the biotech industry as a researcher. She’s also a full time mom to three diminutive adults, wife, daughter, knitter, crocheter, sewer, general crafter, and thought ninja.

Connect with Penny:
Twitter: @ReidRomance