Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Top Off Tuesday - Alien power!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Mysterious, hunky alien is mysterious. I like that.

 Out of the Darkness by Anna Carven
Out of the Darkness (Dark Planet Warriors #4) by Anna Carven
The Kordolians are loose on the asteroid mining station Fortuna Tau, and first-rank mechanic Jia Morgan has become caught up in the thick of things. Under the careful watch of these steely-eyed silver warriors, Jia and her team have been tasked with repairing the hull of the Kordolians’ Alpha-Class battle cruiser, Silence.

The problem is, their alien technology is far, far beyond anything she’s seen before, and whatever they try to weld to Silence’s black hull just won’t stick.

When Jia goes in search of a tool that might actually penetrate the warship’s impossibly strong Callidum exterior, she find herself being aided by a most unlikely source. The hard-faced warrior who’s decided to accompany her walks on silent feet and carries a big, big gun. He’s equal parts scary and attractive, in an otherworldly sort of way.

But although Jia finds this Kordolian fascinating, she’s not even going to try and get close to him, because, well, he’s a freaking Kordolian, and Kordolians aren’t exactly known throughout the Nine Galaxies for being nice and warm and fuzzy.

Instead, she’s going to do her job and fix their warship, because that’s the only way these intimidating warriors are ever going to leave Fortuna Tau. Hopefully, they won’t break anything, or anyone, on the way out.

Oh, and there’s also the small matter of these flesh-eating insect-aliens called Xargek. Apparently, they bite.

Monday, January 16, 2017

Lullaby by J.L. Bryan [Review]

 Lullaby by J.L. Bryan
Lullaby (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #7) by J.L. Bryan
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: July 31, 2016

Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper
1. Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper
2. Cold Shadows
3. The Crawling Darkness
4. Terminal
5. House of Whispers
6. Maze of Souls
7. Lullaby - Paperback | Kindle

J.L. Bryan
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Life is more difficult than ever at Savannah's only ghost-hunting detective agency. While Ellie copes with her mentor's departure and other unwelcome developments, she also worries about the supernatural injuries keeping her boyfriend caught in an endless slumber.

At the same time, Ellie and Stacey are called in to investigate an eerie entity haunting a baby's nursery room. The ghost appears late at night, its face barely visible on the baby monitor, and sings a chilling song.

Soon, Ellie learns there are more ghosts in the house, and at least one of them is a dangerous, child-hunting monster who must be stopped before it kills again.
Thoughts on Lullaby: If J.L. Bryan's intent was to make me hate the company that's stepped in to run Calvin's business, he has succeeded. Admirably. Like, I hate those guys. No, I HATE those guys with all caps. Kara is scary and awful and the fact that the others at PSI allow her get away with it makes me lump them all together.

On the plus side, it's possible what Kara did to Ellie might give her a little extra oomph on the job. Or it might make things even harder. It's really difficult to predict at this point.

So. Things aren't peachy for Ellie and her crew. On a personal note, Ellie's dealing with her boyfriend being in a coma after the events in the last book. Not fun. On the professional side, PSI is awful and the only reason Ellie's sticking around is so she can continue to hunt down her fire-bug ghost. Ehh. Maybe that's not the only reason, but it's the most driving one.

The haunting Ellie is investigating is chilling, her desire to push herself to find out the truth about Anton Clay is kinda bordering on scary, and she's doing the best to keep her friends out of the line of fire from her personal investigations. All in all, an excellent installment in Ellie's ongoing tale.

Sunday, January 15, 2017

RtP Week in Review (01/15/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
    • Err... I sort of forgot to keep track. I bought books, though. Dang it!
    • Currently reading 
      • Claimed by the Mate Vol 3 by Kate Douglas and A.C Arthur
    I don't even know what happened this week. Apparently, I fell down on tracking EVERYTHING. Oops.

    Saturday, January 14, 2017

    Spotlight on... Cursed Touch by Kelly Apple

    The 4th Grimwood book is out and I'm looking toward the end of the series now. EEK! But let's not get ahead of ourselves. Adria Grimm is given her chance to shine in Cursed Touch. You'll get some pesky amnesia, a tippy-tappy goat, and a lady with a bad attitude. FUN!


    Adria Grimm lives at the highest point in Grimwood. The stories of what would befall her if she ever ventured down the mountain to the forest’s edge are cautionary tales she’s always lived by. Becoming a slave to the curse that hides in her blood isn’t the fate she dreams of for herself.

    When an injured man collapses on her doorstep, Adria reluctantly nurses him back to health. The man is aggravating and demanding and Adria can’t wait until he’s well enough to be on his way.

    Waking with little memory of what brought him to the mountains, Micah Redfield has to piece his past together before he can complete the quest that drove him to this remote location. As it turns out, Adria has the answers he’s been looking for, but deciphering the clues she’s been left is only the beginning of their journey.

    Working together, they will have to find a way to unlock the ancient magic hidden in the heart of the mountain before Grimwood itself falls.

    You can pick up Cursed Touch at:
    Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iTunes | Kobo


    Friday, January 13, 2017

    Curved Lines Anthology [Review]

     Curved Lines
    Curved Lines Anthology
    Format: ebook
    Source: provided for an honest review
    Date read: July 30, 2016

    Purchase links: Kindle

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Get k(ink)y with ten sizzling hot book boyfriends! These sexy, curve-loving, tattooed bad boys will steal your hearts and more in this all-new novella collection brought to you by USA Today and bestselling authors.
    Thoughts on Curved Lines: Reviewing in the order I read them (with the exception of Kinky Curves because Kinky Chronicles books get their own review. *finger guns*)...

    Kinky Curves – Jodi Redford - The queen of dirty talk. The king of grind. Love is about to get real filthy. - Review found HERE.

    Dirty Deeds – Allie Cooke - Four days, a million dollars, the performance of a lifetime…but what happens when they stop faking it? Dirty Deeds ain't always dirt cheap. - Interesting idea, but I wanted a little more resolution. Admittedly, Jeff's guilt over the transgression that drove him to this point was intriguing. I just wanted a more solid ending between the two characters.

    Another Man’s Treasure – Dee Tenorio - A widowed actor and single dad pulls out all the stops to show a single mom just how well a woman can be treasured. - HOO-BOY! I liked this one. Tonio was domineering without being a jerk and he was SOOOOO careful with Ari. The care he took in showing her she was special made me a little teary.

    Pretty In Ink – Merryn Dexter - Sexy, sweet Aubrey Jensen is everything a semi-reformed bad boy could want – but sometimes getting what you want doesn’t give you what you need. - I liked this one, but wouldn't have minded it being a little longer. Aubrey and Garrett were cute enough I would have liked to see the nuances of their relationship in a little more detail.

    Acquired Taste – Dee Carney - When celebrity chef August Jaeger mixes it up with a curvy food blogger, they both realize what they want isn’t on any menu. - Sexy times with food. *thumbs up*

    Scorched Desire -- Lexxie Couper - When a Harley-riding hunk literally sweeps her off her feet, Jilly Parker finds herself transported to a world of dragon shifters, carnal lust, and fated love. - Draaaagons, man! I dig them. And I'm all for fated love and mating fevers so this one TOTALLY hit the spot.

    Hot Tamale – Tilly Greene - Derek Schrizer is a retired Marine looking to get a new tattoo, not reconnect with his first love, the curvy sexy Cat. - Had a hard time connecting with both the characters and the story line in this one.

    Like a Boss – Quinn - Proving she’s more than a smart mouth and sexy curves would be a hell of a lot easier if she wasn’t so distracted by her sexy new boss. - I liked this one even though I wasn't thrilled with Theo's way of dealing with his and Talia's relationship while on the job. However, he did redeem himself at the end, so YAY!

    Marked By Ice – Dawn Montgomery - His only job is to protect her at all costs, but who will protect the big bad wolf’s heart once he gets a taste of her sweet lips? - Growly, naked werewolves are my eternal weakness. Ice certainly lived up to both of those standards. *slow thumbs up*

    Waking Up – Kathryn Lively - A chance encounter forces a plus-sized woman with dormant dreams to wake up and find her own Happily Ever After. - Blair wasn't an easy character to like at first. She's so entrenched in her routine, she's barely living. Having someone step into her orbit who's outside of what she's used to shakes her up and makes her see everything she's NOT doing.


    Thursday, January 12, 2017

    K(ink)y Curves by Jodi Redford [Review]

     Kinky Curves by Jodi Redford
    K(ink)y Curves (Kinky Chronicles #3.5) by Jodi Redford
    Format: ebook
    Source: provided as part of the Curved Lines Anthology
    Date read: July 29, 2016

    Kinky Chronicles
    1. Perfect Chemistry
    1.5. Perfect Passion
    2. Kinky Claus
    2.5. Report for Booty
    3. Frisky Business
    3.5. K(ink)y CurvesKindle
    4. Cowboy Kinky

    Jodi Redford
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    The queen of dirty talk. The king of grind. Love is about to get real filthy.
    Thoughts on K(ink)y Curves: Fair warning, Jodi Redford has earned a special spot as my (slightly filthy) soul sister with her dirty talkin' heroes. And heroines, come to think of it. I adore this woman's brain and her naughty characters and all the shenanigans they get into.

    This time around, we have Grady and Charlie. The stripper and the phone sex operator. Niiiiiice! Seriously. Those two are kinda dirty/hot together and I loved it. (I also loved Charlie's sister and her hot-mess of a non-relationship with her boss. Those two!) Both Grady and Charlie have some baggage they need to get past before they can do the happily ever after thing. Or the rainbow unicorn thing. Whatever floats their boat, I guess.

    Bottom line: Charlie and Grady are an excellent addition to the sex-ay Kinky Chronicles world. They do dirty well.

    Wednesday, January 11, 2017

    Barbarian's Prize by Ruby Dixon [Review]

     Barbarian's Prize by Ruby Dixon
    Barbarian's Prize (Ice Planet Barbarians #5) by Ruby Dixon
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: July 29, 2016

    Ice Planet Barbarians
    1. Ice Planet Barbarians
    2. Barbarian Alien
    3. Barbarian Lover
    4. Barbarian Mine
    4.5. Ice Planet Holiday
    5. Barbarian's Prize - Kindle
    6. Barbarian's Mate
    6.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
    6.6. Ice Ice Babies
    7. Barbarian's Touch
    7.5. Calm
    8. Barbarian's Taming
    9. Barbarian's Choice
    10. Fire and Ice

    Ruby Dixon
    Website | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    It’s hard being the most popular girl on the ice planet. The alien men are falling all over themselves to impress me in the hopes that I’ll take them to my furs. But they don’t know my secrets – none of them do. And they don’t realize that behind my smile, I just wish they’d go away.

    I don’t want any of them. I want someone else – someone with a gorgeous blue body, big horns, and the most intense gaze ever. He’s the only one that knows the truth. Maybe with him, I can work through my fears of the past….but I’m pretty sure he wants more than just friendship.

    He wants forever, and I’m not sure I can give it.
    Thoughts on Barbarian's Prize: Oh, I like these big, blue aliens. They're fierce and protective and they have that whole running around without a lot of clothes on in the snow going for them. Which is nice. Very nice.

    This time around, we get Tiffany and Salukh's sexy romance. Tiffany has a fair amount of baggage she needs to unload and Salukh is just the big, blue guy to help her with it. Honestly, I got where Tiffany was coming from with her fears because what she experienced was pretty horrific, but I had a hard time wrapping my head around why she didn't tell anybody what had happened. Considering the circumstances all the women were in, I'm pretty sure they would have supported her and helped her deal with her fears.

    Buuuuut...it did put her and Salukh in close contact so I can't really complain, can I?

    Loved loved loved how patient and understanding Salukh was. I liked his unwavering belief that Tiffany was his, their khui just hadn't figured it out yet. *draws sparkly hearts around him*

    This series continues to entertain and I couldn't be happier.