Sunday, March 26, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (03/26/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
    • The Demon Prince (Ars Numina #2) by Ann Aguirre - For review!
    • Currently reading 
      • The Demon Prince by Ann Aguirre
    Globetrotting...

    Saturday, March 25, 2017

    Spotlight on...Dream by Kelly Apple

    There's a surly nightmare who hasn't quite mastered his inborn skills yet in the house! Meet Cris and Garnet, the nightmare and his special lady friend.

    Cris Mara is tired of hiding his true self. This disillusioned nightmare is ready to show the humans what he can do with the abilities he’s been born with. At least he will be once he masters the skill to walk the nightmare plane at will, not just when night closes over his part of the world.

    Garnet Douglas can’t stop dreaming about the man she sees in a coffee shop near her college. He’s dangerous and fascinating and his darkness calls to her in ways she can’t explain. When an unexpected encounter reveals that Garnet’s dreams aren’t as random as she thought, she has to decide whether she’s ready to believe in the world Cris is part of or if she’d rather keep her head buried in the metaphorical sand.

    The world is teetering on the brink of a revelation and Cris and Garnet are only the beginning.

    Warning: This book contains one surly nightmare who can’t quite keep from going off prematurely. If only he could find a lady who complemented his darkness he might be able to figure things out.
    You can pick up Dream at: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iTunes | Kobo

    Add Dream on Goodreads

    Friday, March 24, 2017

    The Year of the Crocodile by Courtney Milan [Review]

     The Year of the Crocodile by Courtney Milan
    The Year of the Crocodile (Cyclone #2.5) by Courtney Milan
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: September 13, 2016

    Cyclone
    1. Trade Me
    2. Hold Me
    2.5. The Year of the CrocodileKindle
    3. Find Me

    Courtney Milan
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Tina Chen and Blake Reynolds have been together for almost a year. In that time, they’ve grown closer on just about every front. The one exception? Blake’s father has never let anything stop him. Tina’s parents have never let anyone push them around. And they’ve never met.

    That’s about to change. But don’t worry—fireworks are traditional at Chinese New Years.
    Thoughts on Year of the Crocodile: Oh my goodness, I had forgotten how much I like Adam Effing Reynolds. The guy is a foul-mouthed stick of dynamite and I LOVE LOVE LOVE how he expresses himself. I also love how much he adores his son.

    But this short is about more than AFR. It's also about Tina's parents and their own brand of dynamite. Not going to lie, Tina's mom's cake was...genius. Utterly fantastic. She does me proud. The woman isn't afraid to speak (or draw) her mind. I appreciate that.

    And then there's Tina and Blake. THOSE TWO. I like them. I like them very, very much. From Blake's intensity when he's focused on a problem to Tina's creativity when it comes to carving out some alone time for the two of them. *thumbs up*

    This series, man. It's good. Very good. It's highly possible AFR might actually kill me dead before it's over. THAT GUY!

    Thursday, March 23, 2017

    Pirate Nemesis by Carysa Locke [Review]

     Pirate Nemesis by Carysa Locke
    Pirate Nemesis (Telepathic Space Pirates #1) by Carysa Locke
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: September 5, 2016

    Telepathic Space Pirates
    0.5. Pirate Bound
    1. Pirate Nemesis - Kindle

    Carysa Locke
    Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Killers. Thieves. Pirates. Family.

    Mercy Kincaid is a fugitive from her own family. Her dangerous telepathic gifts make her a target. So is anyone she gets close to. When her best friend is captured and tortured, Mercy’s only hope is to reunite with the family that tried to murder her as a child. She trusts few among her blood relatives, but finds herself intrigued by an enigmatic and dangerous killer.

    Reaper has spent a lifetime watching his people die. He's vowed to kill anyone who jeopardizes their survival. Mercy’s gifts are the biggest threat they’ve faced in eleven years, since a biological weapon nearly annihilated the pirate colonies. But Reaper realizes her talents can either destroy them, or save them. He must decide if he’s fallen victim to her power, or if he can truly trust the beautiful woman and her compelling abilities. If he makes the wrong choice, everyone dies.

    Pirate Nemesis is the first book in an ongoing science fiction romance series. If you like compelling world-building, fantastic characters, and sizzling romance, then you'll love Carysa Locke's new twist on an old genre.
    Thoughts on Pirate Nemesis: I can't stop thinking about this book. Seriously. Like, I want more. Immediately, if not yesterday. There are so very many things I love about the world building and the characters that I'm all tangled up because OMG THAT ENDING THO. *swoons*

    *pauses to take a deep breath*

    Right. So Reaper and Mercy worked for me. He's a killer. Literally. His ability to pinpoint weaknesses in those he's up against could be utterly terrifying. Instead, his blunt approach with Mercy makes her feel safe. Meanwhile, Mercy's been so cut off from other gifted individuals that she has no idea what she's capable of.

    AND THERE'S SO MUCH SHINY GOODNESS TO BE FOUND!

    I liked their unlikely romance. I'm on the fence on whether I think Reaper can share Mercy with someone else, but I'm willing to go along for the ride. I'm SO SO SO crazy-eyed by the revelations at the end. THINGS ARE HAPPENING! THINGS!

    I might have slightly understated my excitement, so just bear in mind that I'm totally smitten with these dangerous telepathic space pirates. TOTALLY SMITTEN!

    Wednesday, March 22, 2017

    Calm by Ruby Dixon [Review]

     Calm by Ruby Dixon
    Calm (Ice Planet Barbarians #8.5) by Ruby Dixon
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: September 5, 2016

    Ice Planet Barbarians
    1. Ice Planet Barbarians
    2. Barbarian Alien
    3. Barbarian Lover
    4. Barbarian Mine
    5. Ice Planet Holiday
    6. Barbarian's Prize
    7. Barbarian's Mate
    7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
    7.6. Ice Ice Babies
    8. Barbarian's Touch
    8.5. CalmKindle
    9. Barbarian's Taming
    9.5. Aftershocks
    10. Barbarian's Heart
    11. Barbarian's Hope
    12. Barbarian's Choice
    13. Barbarian's Redemption
    14. Barbarian's Lady

    Ruby Dixon
    Website | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Calm
    One morning, gentle Maylak wakes up and feels a sense of oncoming dread. As the tribe's healer, it is her job to ensure that everyone is safe, happy, and healthy... and they are.

    So what can be threatening her people?

    Moving Day
    Farli helps move Maddie into the new 'girls' cave while avoiding some prospective suitors.

    These are two slice of life short stories set in the ICE PLANET BARBARIANS series and do not stand alone. They should be read after BARBARIAN'S TOUCH and are a little bit of sweetness and family life for those waiting for the next full book release.
    Thoughts on Calm: The first short story teases us with something nebulous on the horizon. Maylak's sense of foreboding sends her through the caverns as she checks on each of the inhabitants. While all the couples are hale and hearty, there's something tickling her sixth sense. I enjoyed her wanderings through the cavern and seeing all the human women as they deal with mated life and their new babies. I'm even more excited as the tease of what's to come.

    Moving Day was kinda sad. As Farli helps move Maddie into her new cave, we see how Asha is sunk in her depression. Knowing Maddie's story is next, I wonder where that will leave Asha and if she can pull out of her funk. *sad face*

    Overall, enjoyable and the vague hints about the future make me want to snap up the next book ASAP.

    Tuesday, March 21, 2017

    Top Off Tuesday - Yum!

    I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

    Man, this cover hits the spot. SO MUCH GOODNESS!

     The Charlotte Chronicles by Jen Frederick
    The Charlotte Chronicles (The Jackson Boys #1) by Jen Frederick
    Charlotte Randolph was only fifteen when she fell in love with her best friend’s gorgeous older brother—but she wasn’t foolish enough to hope he could ever love her back. Nate Jackson always viewed her as a pesky kid…until the day she got sick. The one bright spot during her illness? He realized she was all grown up. But just when she allows herself to believe that dreams can come true, Nate disappears from her life, taking her heart with him.

    Nate knows he lost more than his best friend when he deserted Charlotte to enlist in the Navy. He thought he was doing the right thing, sparing the girl he loves from the shame and humiliation of his actions. Nine years later, it’s time to right his wrongs. He returns home determined to win back his first love…only to find that Charlotte's moved on without him.

    But if there's one thing that being a Navy SEAL has taught Nate? Never give up, even when all hope seems lost. And Nate's never going to give up on Charlotte. Ever.

    Monday, March 20, 2017

    Fish Out of Water by Hailey Edwards [Review]

     Fish Out of Water by Hailey Edwards
    Fish Out of Water (Gemini Series Novellas #1) by Hailey Edwards
    Format: ebook
    Source: provided through Netgalley
    Date read: September 14, 2016

    Gemini
    1. Dead in the Water
    2. Head Above Water
    3. Hell or High Water

    Gemini Series Novellas
    1. Fish Out of WaterKindle

    Hailey Edwards
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Harlow Bevans was a changeling mermaid working as a diving consultant for the Earthen Conclave. Then he came along. Charybdis. A serial killer who possessed her body and wrecked her mind. Now she's an inmate--patient--at Edelweiss Mental Institution.

    When a haunting song lures her to the scene of a brutal murder, the calm of the past few months is shattered. A fellow patient is dead, and Harlow is caught standing over his body by a mysterious guard who hides his own secrets behind a pair of aviator sunglasses her fingers itch to remove.

    Unwilling to be a pawn in another psychopath's game, Harlow sets out to discover the real killer. What she uncovers makes her a prime target, and the next song she hears could be her last. Curiosity may not have killed the cat, but it just might fillet the mermaid.
    Thoughts on Fish Out of Water: Oh my goodness, this novella was so good. Harlow was in a bad way after her run in with Charybdis and she's in Edelweiss trying to find her footing again. Or at least come to terms with what she did while she was under Charybdis's control. She's a mess, but she's not nearly as much a mess as she thinks. Being pulled into the middle of the strange goings-on at Edelweiss helps shock her back into herself. While she's not the carefree woman she was before her possession, the Harlow who lived life loud and with joy is still in there and she's waking up.

    One of the things that wakes her up is Lam. He's nice to look at and he makes her feel things that aren't all doom and gloom. Except Lam has his own set of secrets and they could end up hurting Harlow in the end unless he can control himself. (I believe in him. I BELIEVE!)

    The murders are messy and dangerous. Harlow is tossed into the middle of something dark without the means to defend herself, but she has more skills than most give her credit for.

    I'm LOVING being back in this world and seeing how things turn out for some of the tertiary characters we've met before. *draws glitter hearts around everyone and smiles like a sap* What can I say? I just want to wallow in this world longer. (and watch all the kissing. *thumbs up* to the kissing.)