Saturday, November 18, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [46]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, November 17th to Sunday, November 19th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and tentative future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, November 17, 2017

Cruz by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Cruz by Anna Hackett
Cruz (Hell Squad #2) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: March 14, 2017

Hell Squad
1. Marcus
2. Cruz - PaperbackKindle
3. Gabe
4. Reed
5. Roth
6. Noah
7. Shaw
8. Holmes
9. Niko
10. Finn
11. Devlin
12. Theron
13. Hemi
14. Ash

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Battle-hardened soldier Cruz Ramos is running on empty. As second-in-command of the deadliest commando squad fighting the invading aliens, he doesn't know why he's fighting anymore. He's seen too much destruction, devastation, and far too much death. Still, every day he goes out to protect those humans left, and every day the growing numbness threatens to take over.

Until a mysterious woman emerges from the ruins of destroyed Sydney and saves him from a pack of rampaging aliens.

Santha Kade has one goal: revenge. The raptors who have devastated the Earth have taken everything from her: her team, her home, her beloved sister. Santha--a former police officer--has spent a year alone in the ruined city, waging her own guerrilla war. Sure, she might get lonely sometimes, but she doesn't have room for anything but vengeance. Not even for a sexy soldier with liquid brown eyes, a bone-melting accent, and a face designed to drive a woman wild.

But as Cruz and Santha join forces to rescue human hostages from the aliens, their explosive attraction is impossible to resist. Can these two warriors survive long enough to find something worth living for?
Thoughts on Cruz: The strong men (and women!) of Hell Squad are full of fighting spirit. And by that, I mean they're out on the front lines kicking dinosaur alien butt! AS ONE DOES!

In book two, we're given Cruz and Santha's story. Santha is very much a loner who's been doing an outstanding job exacting some cold vengeance on the aliens who killed her sister. Oh, and she's fascinated by Cruz. Which is totally understandable. Those two have some sparks. And when the team comes across information they need Santha's help with, those sparks heat up even further.

It just goes to show you that even a full-on alien invasion doesn't mean the lovin' has to stop.

While Cruz and Santha are extremely compatible in the sexy times department, her year in her own means Santha has some issues being a team player. Which puts her in a few interesting situations.

Good thing Cruz and the other members of Hell Squad have her back.

I'm really digging the entire Hell Squad team, but I'm DYING to get to Gabe's story. Genetically engineered soldiers in the depths of grief over losing their twin are my thang. Good thing I have the next book on tap!

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Barbarian's Redemption by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Barbarian's Redemption by Ruby Dixon
Barbarian's Redemption (Ice Planet Barbarians #13) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: March 12, 2017

Ice Planet Barbarians
1. Ice Planet Barbarians
2. Barbarian Alien
3. Barbarian Lover
4. Barbarian Mine
5. Ice Planet Holiday
6. Barbarian's Prize
7. Barbarian's Mate
7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
7.6. Ice Ice Babies
8. Barbarian's Touch
8.5. Calm
9. Barbarian's Taming
9.5. Aftershocks
10. Barbarian's Heart
11. Barbarian's Hope
12. Barbarian's Choice
13. Barbarian's Redemption - PaperbackKindle
14. Barbarian's Lady

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
For seasons, I have waited for her - my perfect mate.

In a tribe full of happy couples, I am alone. But I am not content to remain this way. There are no eligible unmated females left, so I will do whatever it takes to bring females back to our tribe...even if it means doing something wrong. Even if it means I must purchase my mate on the intergalactic black market. I will do anything to possess her, to claim her as my own.

But will my ruthless move turn my female against me before we ever meet? Can she ever forgive a male that bought her freedom?
Thoughts on Barbarian's Redemption: I had NO IDEA when I picked up the first book in this series I'd become so addicted to these blue aliens and the humans they rescued from an icy death. NONE. But I am. And I'm thrilled to finally get to see scowly Bek get a special lady friend.

That said, Bek doesn't go about finding a mate in the most conventional of ways. He enlists the help of the ship that brought Mardok to their planet to bring back a small group of human females so he and the other unmated males can have a chance at resonating. The women who are brought to them are slaves and that (a) doesn't sit well with Georgie and the others and (b) puts Bek in the unenviable position of needing to exercise phenomenal patience to show Elly she's safe now and can trust him.

Frankly, Elly's in a bad, bad place when they end up on not-Hoth. She's desperate and scared and she's been a slave for so long she has zero trust for those around her. Bek's highhanded actions make her feel like she's still a captive, although the circumstances of her captivity might have changed.

Buuuuut...she's smart and she watches people and she makes a conscious choice to trust her instincts even though her past experiences are telling her to stay on guard.

Ohmygoodness, I liked these two together. Bek comes to see how his actions hurt those around him and he's so darn sweet with Elly it made me all wibbly. Elly's survived a lot and she's managed to keep from being...well, no, wait. She is kinda a hot mess when they first arrive, but she rallies and turns things around. And gets the dude.

And that's what it's all about.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

The Roswell Affair by Anne Bordeaux [Review]

 The Roswell Affair by Anne Bordeaux
The Roswell Affair (First Contact #1) by Anne Bordeaux
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: October 28, 2017

First Contact
1. The Roswell Affair - Kindle
2. His Human Bride

Anne Bordeaux
| Website | Twitter |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Roswell, New Mexico

1947

Seven feet tall. Dark skin. Blue luminescent tattoos. Do they cover his entire body?

Katharine Leigh Parker’s orders are the last things on her mind when she sees him. She went from fetching coffee to communicating with an honest-to-god alien in barely a day. But this was no little green man.

First contact happens right there with him—Breccon Tallel—still chained to the table, their fated bond overshadowing her analytical mind. Her duty.

Breccon promises Katharine pleasures unlike any she’s experienced if she frees him. The scientist in her weighs the risks. The human fears the unknown. But the desire—the need—in her knows she’ll give in to whatever Breccon asks.
Thoughts on The Roswell Affair: This might be a quick read, but it has all the things I enjoy. A hunky alien on a mission? YES! A smart heroine who sees what has to be done and does it? YES! Sexy times in unconventional places? Oh, yeaaaaaah.

I do have to say that I'm a huge fan of blue aliens. Huge. Seriously. Once you go blue, baby, you never go back. That's certainly true for Katharine. She's gets a taste of the big, blue hunk and she's smitten. Sure, she fights it a bit, but it's inevitable.

JUST THE WAY I LIKE IT!

Quick, sexy, and full of blue. I'm IN!

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Cherish Hard by Nalini Singh [Review]

 Cherish Hard by Nalini Singh
Cherish Hard (Hard Play #1) by Nalini Singh
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: November 5, 2017

Hard Play
1. Cherish Hard - Paperback | Kindle

Nalini Singh
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Sailor Bishop has only one goal for his future – to create a successful landscaping business. No distractions allowed. Then he comes face-to-face and lips-to-lips with a woman who blushes like an innocent… and kisses like pure sin.

Ísa Rain craves a man who will cherish her, aches to create a loving family of her own. Trading steamy kisses with a hot gardener in a parking lot? Not the way to true love. Then a deal with the devil (aka her CEO-mother) makes Ísa a corporate VP for the summer. Her main task? Working closely with a certain hot gardener.

And Sailor Bishop has wickedness on his mind.

As Ísa starts to fall for a man who makes her want to throttle and pounce on him at the same time, she knows she has to choose – play it safe and steady, or risk all her dreams and hope Sailor doesn’t destroy her heart.
Thoughts on Cherish Hard: If you're looking for something sweet and sexy with a ridiculously romantic gardener and a woman with plenty of familial issues, this book is for you. Sailor is seriously sweet and focused--a good thing when all that focus is directed at Ísa, but not so great when his focus gets in the way of living his life--and I LOOOOOVED seeing him find his HEA.

(For the record, if you haven't read Gabriel's book yet, I HIGHLY recommend it. Where Sailor's sweet, Gabe is crazy intense. It's GLORIOUS!)

As for Ísa, she has a lifetime of being ignored by the people who should have cared for her the most and she's determined to make sure her younger siblings (full and otherwise) never feel the emotional neglect she felt as a child. Her mother's underhanded way of getting her to work for her was rough to read. Ísa concerns for her family trump her concerns for herself any day of the week. She'll gladly give up a piece of herself if it means making sure they have a chance to shine.

I completely appreciate that, it was her mom's cutthroat use of business tactics when it came to getting what she wanted that gave me a sour lemon face. Good thing Ísa had Sailor to show her what it meant to be the center of someone's affection. With a mom like Jacqueline Rain, it's amazing Ísa grew up as well-adjusted as she did.

I love love love the Bishop-Esera clan and I have since we were first introduced to them in Gabe's book (seriously, read it. SO GOOD!). We have two more brothers to go and I'm ALL IN!

Spotlight On...Cherish Hard by Nalini Singh

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh kicks off her new Hard Play contemporary romance series with a sizzling story that’ll leave you smiling…

Cherish Hard is NOW LIVE

Meet Sailor & Isa TODAY!


More about CHERISH HARD

CHERISH HARD
A Hard Play Novel by Nalini Singh

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh kicks off her new Hard Play contemporary romance series with a sizzling story that’ll leave you smiling…

Sailor Bishop has only one goal for his future – to create a successful landscaping business. No distractions allowed. Then he comes face-to-face and lips-to-lips with a woman who blushes like an innocent… and kisses like pure sin.

Ísa Rain craves a man who will cherish her, aches to create a loving family of her own. Trading steamy kisses with a hot gardener in a parking lot? Not the way to true love. Then a deal with the devil (aka her CEO-mother) makes Ísa a corporate VP for the summer. Her main task? Working closely with a certain hot gardener.

And Sailor Bishop has wickedness on his mind.

As Ísa starts to fall for a man who makes her want to throttle and pounce on him at the same time, she knows she has to choose – play it safe and steady, or risk all her dreams and hope Sailor doesn’t destroy her heart.


☆☆☆☆☆☆


EXCERPT FROM CHERISH HARD BY
NALINI SINGH

ÍSA WONDERED WHAT THE HELL she was doing.

Being a devil woman, she reminded herself. Having fun for a change. Not being a grandma at twenty-eight years of age.

Still, she couldn’t stop second-guessing herself as Sailor led her out of the house through a side entrance that opened out into a small, manicured garden. “I’ll have to take off my heels,” she whispered when she saw the pebbled path snaking through the garden.

“Want a piggyback ride?” A playful grin. “I promise not to molest your thighs.”

Goose bumps broke out over Ísa’s skin, her nipples tight. Reckless as she was feeling tonight, she might just have taken him up on his offer if she hadn’t been worried her damn dress would split in two. “Maybe when we’re naked,” she said instead, Devil Ísa in full flower.

Groaning, he doubled over as if she’d punched him.

Her lips twitching despite the melting sexual heat liquefying her bones, she leaned down to slip off her heels.

Sailor waited, his hand firm around hers, until she was done. Taking the heels from her, he carried them in his other hand as Ísa padded beside him on the grass that lay on this side of the pebbled path. The path ended at a weathered wooden gate, which, when opened, put them at the top of a narrow walkway that led down onto a beach Ísa couldn’t yet see but could hear.

Her heart crashed in time with the waves as they made their way down to the beach while the mansion behind them pulsed with light and music. But she didn’t turn and run away, she didn’t stop and talk herself out of it, she didn’t attempt to be a sensible adult. She followed a gorgeous, blue-eyed man down a dirt pathway to an effectively private beach.

The sand that had been tracked onto the path was gritty under her feet, the air coming off the sea cool but not cold.

“The water’s going to be icy, isn’t it?” she whispered to his broad back.

“Don’t worry, spitfire. I’ll keep you warm,” was the deep-voiced response. “Stop here.” Jumping down to the beach, he reached up to grab her by the waist, swinging her down as if she were a featherweight.

Something fluffy and mushy came to life inside Ísa. “Here?”

Shaking his head, he said, “Raj told me there’s like a little cove area—not a proper cove, but caused by— There.”

Ísa saw it at once. A huge tree had fallen into the water at some point and smashed up against some rocks where it appeared to be stuck. Between the jutting rocks on either side and the fallen trunk was a naturally created pool. The water within it was pretty calm, and it looked as if they could get to it by clambering over some rocks that didn’t appear too sharp or slippery.

Of course, she’d be walking over those rocks naked.

Ísa looked up at the moon. Imagined it shining on the stark white of her body. Gulped. “Will you close your eyes while I go in the water?” Even Devil Ísa wasn’t up for blinding him with her glow-in-the-dark form.

A glance back. “What’re you going to bribe me with?”

Ísa scowled. “Not pushing you into the water right now.” It was a toothless threat given his muscles and her lack of them.

Rubbing his jaw, he said, “Three tongue kisses. That’s my price, and I’m not budging.”

Ísa wanted to pounce on him all over again. “Two,” she countered.

“Nuh-uh. Three. Or I’m keeping both eyes wide open.” Leaning in, he pressed his nose to hers. “I really want to keep my eyes wide open.”

And Ísa really wanted to kiss him and run her hands all over that sculpted chest. “Three,” she whispered.

Copyright © 2017 by Nalini Singh


Haven’t read this series yet? Start the Rock Kiss Series NOW!

Rock Addiction (Book One) Rock Kiss Series


Rock Courtship (Book 1.5) A Rock Kiss Novel:


Rock Hard (Book Two) Rock Kiss Series

Rock Redemption (Book Three) Rock Kiss Series

Rock Wedding (Book Four) Rock Kiss Series


Author Information

Nalini Singh is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Psy-Changeling, Guild Hunter, and Rock Kiss series. She lives and works in beautiful New Zealand, and is passionate about writing.

If you’d like to explore her other books, you can find lots of excerpts and free short stories on her website. Slave to Sensation is the first book in the Psy-Changeling series, while Angels’ Blood is the first book in the Guild Hunter series. The Rock Kiss books are all stand alone and can be read in any order.

STALK HER: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

Monday, November 13, 2017

Ruin You by Molly O'Keefe [Review]

 Ruin You by Molly O'Keefe
Ruin You (The Debt #3) by Molly O'Keefe
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: November 8, 2017

The Debt
0.5. The Debt
1. Lost Without You
2. Where I Belong
3. Ruin You - PaperbackKindle

Molly O'Keefe
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Simon

The only thing that stands in the way of my revenge is her.

The lying scheming daughter of the man who killed my parents. She has the secrets I need to bring down her father.

And I’ll do anything to get them. I will lie to her. Steal from her. Use her.
Ruin her.

It helps that our chemistry is explosive.

What I’m not expecting is for her to be so sweet. And so strong.

So…irresistible.

Penny

After so many years of lying and hiding, I finally have a place to call home. With people I can call a family. The Paintbrush Inn is my life now, and I won’t let anyone ruin it.

When sexy and world-weary Simon checks in to the Inn, I never expect him to glance my way. I’ve spent my whole life blending into the background. Being overlooked and ignored. It’s been helpful, even though it’s lonely. And he’s way out of my league.

But our attraction is powerful. Undeniable.

Dangerous.

Because I can’t let anyone close. If the secrets I keep were to be revealed, my whole life would be destroyed. But something about Simon makes me break all my own rules. I’m letting him in to my home, my body, my life, never expecting he has his own secrets.

His own lies.

When the truth comes out, we’ll both be ruined.
Thoughts on Ruin You: Okay, give me a minute here. This might get messy. Just go with it. Simon's debt has been called in and he's on his way to do something illegal, but not as terrible as, you know, killing someone. Even if it was in self-defense.

Anyway. Simon. He's a hot ball of rage and vengeance. His hatred keeps him poking at the man who killed his parents and suddenly he's being handed the keys to the kingdom and he's ALL SORTS OF CONFLICTED ABOUT IT. At least he is once he gets to know Penny and sees how very different she is from her father.

But a debt is a debt and Simon can't afford to cross Bates. Not when it finally gets him what he's been working toward since he was seventeen.

Meanwhile, Penny is just a hot mess. She's one of those people who self-sabotages and she knows getting involved with Simon isn't going to end well, but...she does it anyway. And when things do seem to be working out, she starts dreaming of bigger and better things. Which isn't such a great idea when the two people involved are both lying left and right.

I'm just going to say that as much as their personas were based on lies, they gave each other a lot of truth along the way. You could see them barreling toward a crash of epic proportions and you just knew it was going to be bad.

We get a little more insight into what motivates Bates and his deal with the kids. Carissa...well, I'm not sure about her. Bates has his reasons for doing what he did, but hers are still shrouded in mystery. Rosa's story is up next and since she's been out of the picture since THE NIGHT, I'm not sure how she fits in yet. Time will tell.