Sunday, June 25, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (06/25/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Spotlight On... Dangerous Curves by Kelly Apple

Looking for some big cats who know what they want and go for it? HAVE I GOT A BOOK FOR YOU! Sam and Luna. They have a few communication problems. Namely that Sam gets tongue tied around the lady he's smitten with.

Shapeshifters, man. Gotta love 'em!

 Dangerous Curves by Kelly Apple
Dangerous Curves (Wicked Pride #2)
Samuel Delaney’s had a rough couple of months. Not only did he find out his mom works for the government in a job she stubbornly refuses to speak about, now he’s helping his alpha deal with a sudden influx of wolves after their alpha mated with one of the cats from his pride.

Most importantly, the leopardess he’s been half in love with his entire adult life is actively looking for a mate.

And Sam isn’t even a footnote on her list of potentials.

Convincing the lovely Luna North to give him a chance would be a hell of a lot easier if he didn’t get tongue tied whenever she was around. He’ll have to rely on his cat’s instinctive ability to land on its feet if he hopes to make any headway with the stubborn beauty.

Because when a lion chooses his mate, he doesn’t back down.

Ever.
You can pick up Dangerous Curves at: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | Kobo

Add Dangerous Curves on Goodreads

Friday, June 23, 2017

Barbarian's Heart by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Barbarian's Heart by Ruby Dixon
Barbarian's Heart (Ice Planet Barbarians #10) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: November 26, 2016

Ice Planet Barbarians
1. Ice Planet Barbarians
2. Barbarian Alien
3. Barbarian Lover
4. Barbarian Mine
5. Ice Planet Holiday
6. Barbarian's Prize
7. Barbarian's Mate
7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
7.6. Ice Ice Babies
8. Barbarian's Touch
8.5. Calm
9. Barbarian's Taming
9.5. Aftershocks
10. Barbarian's Heart - PaperbackKindle
11. Barbarian's Hope
12. Barbarian's Choice
13. Barbarian's Redemption
14. Barbarian's Lady

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I’ve never spent a day without my mate since arriving on the ice planet. I’m happy and in love, and we have a beautiful child together. All that changed when the world shook.

My mate nearly died.

He wakes up from his coma…and he can’t remember me. Or our son. Every memory of the past two years is gone. And that changes everything between us. How can I love someone that doesn’t remember me?

How can I not, when I know he’s still my mate underneath it all?
Thoughts on Barbarian's Heart: Oh, this book hurt a little. I seriously felt for Stacy as she struggled to come to terms with Pashov's missing memories. And when Pashov realized what he'd lost...*sniffle*

Admittedly, there was a part of me that wanted to give Stacy a good shake and remind her that Pashov hadn't asked to have two years of his life erased. But I also got where she was coming from. She'd had her entire world upended and she was struggling to make sense of things. Seeing as how Pashov doesn't know how to act around this alien everyone is telling him is his mate, there's a lot of missed opportunities for communication between them. Throw in the lack of privacy as the tribe travels to their potential new home and you could see how things could fall apart every time it looked like they're making strides forward.

Then Pashov steps up and enacts a crazy plan to find some time alone with his small family and ...well, things get better. Because these hunky blue aliens like to spirit their lady friends away every once in a while and the human ladies don't seem to mind. Well, some of them do. But Stacy doesn't and that's what matters this time.

There are still mysteries to unravel on this frozen planet and I'm getting mighty curious about who or what created the village. Here's to hoping we have plenty more adventures with these blur-skinned hunks!

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Over the Moon by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Over the Moon by Hailey Edwards
Over the Moon (Gemini #6, Lorimar Pack #3) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 16, 2017

Gemini
1. Dead in the Water
2. Head Above Water
3. Hell or High Water

Lorimar Pack
1. Promise the Moon
2. Wolf at the Door
3. Over the MoonKindle

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Dell has persuaded the Bloodless army to fight alongside her pack in Butler, but she still has to get there. Halfway home, the rift detonates, blasting out a magic surge that sweeps across the globe, frying electronics and spells alike. Leaving her with no way to get home except on her own two--or four--feet.

Dangerous times demand equally lethal alliances, and she has to make a risky deal if she wants to reach the front lines before it's too late. The bargain grants an ancient fae power over her, a hold she vowed no man would ever have on her again, but freedom requires sacrifice.

As the threshold between Earth and Faerie erodes, humans and supernaturals alike are in danger of being erased as the fae seek to claim this world as their own. This is the moment when new legends arise and old gods fall, when fates unspool and futures unravel, when battles are won and lives are lost.

The war isn't just coming. It's here.
Thoughts on Over the Moon: OMG. *makes flaily noises that can probably only be heard by dogs and possibly a handful of supernaturals* This book gave me everything I didn't know I needed and I LOVED IT. No joke. It got me all riled up to go back and read about Thierry and Shaw and Cam and Graeson again. So much goodness. So much.

So. This adventure Dell's on has definitely made her a little more careful. I don't know if that's quite the correct word considering how often she ends up nearly dead, but she's thinking about her actions before she jumps and that's something. I guess when a full blown war is ready to break out between Earth and Faerie, you end up brushing up against death more often than normal. In other words, not all those near death experiences are her fault.

But I digress. With the Lorimar pack trying to hold the line against Rilla's vendetta and the hordes of fae swarming into their land, Dell and Isaac are hard pressed to stay in one piece. They're making deals and trusting that their allies are going to hold up their side of them. It's a bad place to be, but under the circumstances it has to be done.

Again, this installment gave me everything I needed before I knew I needed it. We got heartache and reconciliation and hard choices. And I loved it. So much. I'm sad to see this series end, but I loved how it went out. *draws glittery hearts around it and reminds myself I can always do a full series reread*

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

No Groom at the Inn by Megan Frampton [Review]

 No Groom at the Inn by Megan Frampton
No Groom at the Inn (Dukes Behaving Badly #2.5) by Megan Frampton
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: November 21, 2016

Dukes Behaving Badly
1. The Duke's Guide to Correct Behavior
1.5. When Good Earls Go Bad
2. Put Up Your Duke
2.5. No Groom at the Inn - Paperback | Kindle
3. One-Eyed Dukes are Wild
4. Why Do Dukes Fall in Love
5. My Fair Duchess

Megan Frampton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In this Dukes Behaving Badly holiday novella, a young lady entertains a sudden proposal of marriage—to a man she’s only just met...

What does a lady do when a man she’s never seen before offers his hand in marriage? Lady Sophronia Bettesford doesn’t scream and run away. Instead, she accepts the shocking proposition. After all, what’s her other choice? To live with her cousin, caring for six children and a barnyard full of chickens?

James Archer has roamed the world, determined never to settle down. He’s faced danger and disaster…he fears nothing and no one—except his mother and her matchmaking ways. So when ordered to attend a Christmastime house party filled with holiday cheer and simpering young misses, he produces—a fiancĂ©e!

Sophronia and James vow to pretend to be in love for one month. But when they promise to give each other a Christmas kiss, it becomes clear that this pact made out of necessity might just be turning into love.
Thoughts on No Groom at the Inn: I have to admit I get a kick out of pretend couples turning into something more. Especially when the self-avowed bachelor just can't keep his eyes or his thoughts off his fake fiancee. That our heroine is intelligent and able to keep her head in any situation just makes it better.

Considering the alternative, I completely understand why Sophronia was willing to help a man she didn't know. That she had to convince Jamie's curious, doting mama and the bevy of eligible ladies being presented to him that they were a solid match couldn't have been easy, but she did it. And the more time she spent with Jamie, the more she grew to admire him.

I'm sure his impressively large biceps had nothing to do with it, either.

I loved, loved, LOVED Jamie's way of declaring himself. It was so perfectly suited to Sophy that it made me grin. From the punny title to the simmering tension, this entire book made me happy. *thumbs up all around*

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Wolf at the Door by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Wolf at the Door by Hailey Edwards
Wolf at the Door (Gemini #5, Lorimar Pack #2) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 16, 2017

Gemini
1. Dead in the Water
2. Head Above Water
3. Hell or High Water

Lorimar Pack
1. Promise the Moon
2. Wolf at the DoorKindle
3. Over the Moon

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Prison is no one's idea of a good time, and it's even worse for Dell. Confinement has her inner wolf snarling as she paces their cell, and there's no end in sight. Just as she reaches her breaking point, the pack liaison shows up with an offer she can’t refuse. Dell’s freedom in exchange for going to Faerie and recapturing the fae prince responsible for her current digs.

But this fool's errand won't be a solo mission. Isaac Cahill has lost Dell twice, and he’ll be damned if she slips through his fingers again. This time, he’s not letting her out of his sight. Even if it means earning more than a few love bites from his pissed off she-wolf.

What they discover on their perilous quest is that war is closer than anyone imagined. As trusted allies fall and dangerous new threats emerge, Dell discovers one defining truth. Isaac is hers, and she'll fight to the death for him. And, at the rate this war is coming, she might not have long to wait.
Thoughts on Wolf at the Door: Oh, Dell. You're really in a pickle this time, aren't you? The maneuverings to get her into Faerie were wicked cool, though. So many strings to pull and Thierry is in the middle of it, doing her thing.

I'm going to pause here and let out a big, fluttery sigh for the romance between Isaac and Dell. I completely understood Dell's heartache, but Isaac's reason for leaving her in the first place also made sense. They both had some growing up to do and now they've reached a point where their heads are on a little straighter. The downside of this is that, while Dell did grow into herself, her deep-seated fears she'll fall apart like her mother make her very wary about trusting her heart to anyone. Isaac especially.

But Wargs are good at loyalty, so I have every confidence things will stick.

Okay. Faerie. Twisty politics. Powerful fae. Oh, and an army of bloodthirsty half-breeds with some long-standing hatred for full fae. There's danger on the horizon and things are looking rough. AWESOME.

Monday, June 19, 2017

Spotlight On...Lost Without You by Molly O'Keefe

LOST_BANNERNOWAVAILABLE

Lost Without You by Molly O'Keefe is NOW AVAILABLE!
"With wonderfully drawn characters, deep emotions, and O’Keefe’s draw-you-in-and-hold-you-tight writing, Lost Without You is totally one-clickable!" — J. Kenner NYT and Internationally Best Selling Author

MOLostWithYouBookCover6x9_HIGH

BUY NOW!

Beautiful young couple hugging and kissing isolated on black background.

ALL DEBTS MUST BE PAID
Tommy

Seven years ago, I thought I could save Beth, the girl I loved from the monster who was supposed to take care of us. I thought I could keep Beth and all the other kids at St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles safe.

I failed. Badly. Now we all have blood on our hands and owe a dangerous man a very dangerous debt. We don’t know when he’ll come calling for payment, but when he does – we pay, or we suffer.

When my turn comes, I’m ready for anything.

Except seeing Beth again.

LOVE IS NEVER FREE

Beth

No one ever tells you that the cost of having your dreams come true is literally every single other part of your life. Yes, I’m a huge pop star these days, but I’m pretty much a mess, too.

I’ve spent my life hiding behind disguises, make-up and costumes, all to protect myself from the kind of pain that comes from revealing your true self to someone.

I did that once. With Tommy. The only person I ever loved. It didn’t turn out so well.

And now, with everything else falling apart around me, I’m suddenly in the backseat of his car.

Being kidnapped.

And the past we’ve both tried to run from is catching up with us.

Contains The Debt: A Prologue and 50,000 more words in the continuation of Tommy and Beth's story

MOWhereIBelongBookCover6x9_HIGH

PREORDER WHERE I BELONG - June 26th
Amazon ➤ http://amzn.to/2qkC5jM
 iBooks ➤ http://apple.co/2qh6gbc
Nook ➤ http://bit.ly/2qyo2Eo

THE GIRL I LOVED IS THE WOMAN I CAN’T HAVE

It was simple: Pay the debt and I stay out of jail. Pay the debt and I stay alive.

But I sacrificed it all for Beth.

I didn’t pay what I owed. I’m sure punishment is coming, but I can take it - as long as Beth is safe. Away from her mother and everyone else who would hurt her.

I gave it all up for two days with her. And it was worth it.

She always was.

THE SECRETS WE KEEP ARE WHAT TEARS US APART

We’re supposed to be done. Over. Tommy goes his way, I go mine. Cue the heartbreaking music.

I’m supposed to forget him, but I don’t think I can. And when the danger closes in on Tommy, we’re on the run again. From Bates. From my mother. From our past. And there are no safe places to hide.

Except one. And it’s the place that will hurt Tommy the most.

But maybe it’s time for me to face my past. My demons.

Maybe it’s time for me to save Tommy for once.

LOST_JKENNER1

About the Author:
Molly O'Keefe is an award-winning author of over 30 romance novels. She lives in Toronto, Canada with her family and the largest heap of dirty laundry in North America. Sign up for her newsletter to get release day news, exclusive excerpts, sale announcements and in-depth author interviews!

Connect with Molly: