Thursday, February 23, 2017

Make it a Double by Sawyer Bennett [Review]

 Make it a Double by Sawyer Bennett
Make it a Double (Last Call #2) by Sawyer Bennett
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 24, 2016

Last Call
1. On the Rocks
2. Make it a Double - Paperback | Kindle
3. Sugar on the Edge
4. With a Twist
5. Shaken, Not Stirred

Sawyer Bennett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Brody Markham has endured a nightmare, spending the last five years in prison and losing everything that was dear to him. Now he’s back home, trying to survive in a world he doesn’t recognize anymore. While his family and friends desperately try to reach through to him, he shelters himself further and further away from their love.

Alyssa Myers has worked her entire life to distance herself from the luxurious and privileged lifestyle in which she was raised. Running her non-profit agency, The Haven, she is content to spend her days helping abused animals find sanctuary, which fulfills her in a way that money just can’t buy.

Maybe it’s that she recognizes in Brody some of the same characteristics she sees in her homeless wards, but Alyssa is powerless to stop her personal quest to make Brody whole again.

While Brody struggles to surface from the darkness, Alyssa tries to protect her heart in case he’s not willing to accept the light that she offers him.
Thoughts on Make it a Double: Awww. I'm such a sucker for the damaged, repentant heroes, aren't I? Now, I liked Hunter in book 1, but I REALLY liked Brody. The guy worked for me on a lot of levels. The broody ones get me every time, man. Every time.

So. Brody and Alyssa. He's been burned before by love. In the most epic of ways, might I add. The fact that his previous girlfriend came from money colors his view of Alyssa when he sees her again after getting out of prison. Except, Alyssa is nothing like his ex and the more time he spends with her, the more he comes to realize it.

Then things happen. THINGS. And soon those two are getting down and dirty in all the best ways.

I like the Markham siblings. I like that despite everything he'd been through, Brody knew his family loved him. I liked that he was so willing to stand beside Alyssa when her own family treats her badly. I like broody, damaged men who are trying to do right even when the world seems to be against them.

I have the rest of the books in this series. I just might have to dive on into them. Soon. Very soon.

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Beyond Galaxy's Edge by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Beyond Galaxy's Edge by Anna Hackett
Beyond Galaxy's Edge (The Phoenix Adventures #5) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 23, 2016

The Phoenix Adventures
0. Among Galactic Ruins
1. At Star's End
2. In the Devil's Nebula
3. On a Rogue Planet
4. Beneath a Trojan Moon
5. Beyond Galaxy's Edge - Kindle
6. On a Cyborg Planet
7. Return to Dark Earth
8. On a Barbarian World
9. Lost in Barbarian Space

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Ambitious Patrol Captain Nissa Sander has spent three years at the galaxy’s edge keeping the law and order, and chasing scoundrel smuggler, Justyn Phoenix. But the charming rogue has always outwitted her and she’s had a hard time ignoring his hard body and handsome face. But when one of the galaxy’s most important documents—the US Constitution—is stolen, Nissa finds herself working with the very man she’s been trying to throw in her brig.

Justyn Phoenix embraces life and offers everyone a wink and a smile. He’s also in love with a spit-and-polish Patrol captain. Yep, crazy in love, and he knows she’ll never love him back. But when the opportunity arises to work alongside Nissa on a wild and crazy mission to recover the US Constitution, he can’t resist.

But nothing on this treasure hunt is as it seems. The trail leads them to fake documents, rival treasure hunters, and a millennia old mystery. As the hunt takes them beyond the galaxy’s edge, Justyn and Nissa will face the firestorm of their desire, and soon learn if they can survive long enough to save the galaxy.
Thoughts on Beyond Galaxy's Edge: I do enjoy these books. I mean, treasure hunting. IN SPACE. Now with carnivorous beasties! *makes excited noises*

So. Justyn and Nissa. They're on two very different ends of the spectrum at first. She follows the rules. He's...well, he's a Phoenix. Then things start happening. And suddenly all that pent up emotion is getting the better of them. Well, emotion and that aphrodisiac. But mostly emotion.

*cue up the mood lighting and some sexy music* (err, that's just me projecting. I don't think there was either mood lighting or sexy music. But there could have been. Oh, yeah!)

I get a serious kick out of the treasure hunting. And the Phoenixes. Those guys are fun. They play hard, they love hard and they have a core of decency despite their sometimes questionable ventures. Also, I kinda get a kick out of how all the ladies swoon over them. The Phoenix men have GAME!

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Ares by Felicity Heaton [Review]

 Ares by Felicity Heaton
Ares (Guardians of Hades #1) by Felicity Heaton
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 17, 2017

Gaurdians of Hades
1. Ares - Paperback | Kindle
2. Valen

Felicity Heaton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Prince of the Underworld and Lord of Fire, Ares was banished from his home by his father, Hades, two centuries ago and given a new duty and purpose—to keep our world and his from colliding in a calamity foreseen by the Moirai.

Together with his six brothers, he fights to defend the gates to the Underworld from daemons bent on breaching them and gaining entrance to that forbidden land, striving to protect his home from their dark influence. Caged by the manifestation of his power, held apart from those he loves by his own fire and starved of physical contact, Ares lives a cold existence driven by duty and the desire to return to his world.

Until his world collides with a daemon who steals his power and a mortal female who shatters the ice around his heart and awakens the true fire within him—a soul-stirring passion both dangerous and seductive.

Megan has wandered far from her home, driven from everyone she loves by the devastating realisation that she is different to them all. Unsure who to trust in the world, she keeps to herself, until a fateful stormy night brings a temptingly handsome warrior crashing into her life and into her heart—a warrior who seems to hold powers more frightening and marvellous than her own.

When the New York gate comes under threat, and Ares is put to the test, will he choose his duty and regain the power he needs in order to save his world or will he choose the desires of his heart and sacrifice his fire so he can be with the woman becoming his whole world?
Thoughts on Ares: Ooh. A new series. I always enjoy getting to know new characters and all their quirks. Let's just say the brothers look like they're going to be a hoot. All of them. From first to last. (But maybe, possibly Esher most of all. THAT DUDE HAS A FEW UNRESOLVED ISSUES. Or something. Whatever it is that has him all riled up will be innnnnnteresting. I can feel it.)

But this is Ares story and we should really take a look at him instead of endlessly wondering what it is that turned Esher into a mortal-hating god.

So, Ares. He's got his own set of issues to deal with. Namely, that fire-thing. Not being able to touch anybody for a couple of centuries because you're afraid you might burn them up on contact is a rough way to live. Technically, he can touch a few of his brothers, but still. Centuries, man. That's a lot of alone time.

Megan also had a few things she's dealing with. Her ability sets her apart from others and she's spent the last several years alone. Which sucks, but not quite as much as those several centuries for Ares. On the other hand, Ares had his family. So, you know, trade-off.

As I said, I'm excited about a new series and those brothers seem like they're going to be a handful!

Monday, February 20, 2017

Rocky Mountain Devil by Vivian Arend [Review]

 Rocky Mountain Devil by Vivian Arend
Rocky Mountain Devil (Six Pack Ranch #10) by Vivian Arend
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: September 8, 2016

Six Pack Ranch
1. Rocky Mountain Heat
2. Rocky Mountain Haven
3. Rocky Mountain Desire
4. Rocky Mountain Angel
5. Rocky Mountain Rebel
6. Rocky Mountain Freedom
7. Rocky Mountain Romance
8. Rocky Retreat
9. Rocky Mountain Shelter
10. Rocky Mountain Devil - Paperback | Kindle
11. Rocky Mountain Home
12. Rocky Mountain Forever

Vivian Arend
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The sweetest part of temptation is giving in…

Raphael (Angel) Coleman and Laurel Sitko were thick as thieves throughout their school years. The unlikely friendship between the rancher’s son and the preacher’s daughter might have gone unnoticed by most, but their shared laughter and connection were the best parts of Rafe's life growing up. Now that she’s returned to Rocky, he’s eager to move from friend to something far more intimate.

After three years away, Laurel’s ready to start over with the gorgeous cowboy who’s always owned a piece of her heart. But when her college ex shows up in town, she’s got a lot more to deal with than expected, including one suddenly possessive cowboy determined to protect her even as he tutors her through every sexual lesson in the book.

Desire flares hotter and hotter through stolen moments and willing seduction. But when tragedy strikes, Rafe’s left on shaky ground, his biggest fear now a reality that could tear them apart and rip forever from their grasp.

Will the connection forged by time be strong enough to see them through to the other side?

Warning: Friends to lovers equals sweet kisses heating to earth-shaking passion, mixed with laughter and tears. Get ready for hellos, farewells and goodbyes…some forever. Because everyone knows the only real secrets in a small town are the ones you’re willing to take to the grave.
Thoughts on Rocky Mountain Devil: Laurel and Rafe were seriously cute together. Seriously. From their first interaction as kids right on up to the two of them deciding to try out coupledom. There were a few speed bumps along the way to their happily ever after (because it wouldn't be as fun to read about them if there weren't!), but they figured things out. I'm pretty sure Rafe met most of those speed bumps with an easy going smile on his face. Most, mind you. Not all.

What can I say? I like a guy who manages to crack a joke even when he's dying to throttle someone for being a douchecanoe.

The Coleman clan is still as flirty, fun, and possessive as ever. Laurel fit in pretty seamlessly with them for all she's been away for a while. The lady loves of the various cowboys welcomed her in and made her feel right at home. The families themselves are big (and getting bigger), complicated, and full of all the emotions a big family is full of.

FYI, Jesse. *sniffle* I can't WAIT to read his book now. Poor guy.

Sunday, February 19, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (02/19/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • On Wednesday, I talked about endings and beginnings at KellyApple.com. Working on the final book in a series is ROUGH sometimes. (Although, the final Grimwood book is going surprisingly well. GO FIGURE!)
  • I'm working on being more active on my author Facebook page. Reminders about upcoming books and other FUN things have been the flavor of the week lately. Feel free to follow me there so you don't miss out on any future goodies.

Saturday, February 18, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [37]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, February 24th to Sunday, February 26th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • Sacked by Jen Frederick


Friday, February 17, 2017

Grinder by Samantha Whiskey [Review]

 Grinder by Samantha Whiskey
Grinder (Seattle Sharks #1) by Samantha Whiskey
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 23, 2016

Seattle Sharks
1. Grinder - Kindle
2. Enforcer

Samantha Whiskey
| Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Gage McPherson was the Seattle Shark’s best Grinder, until he shattered his shoulder last season. Time heals all wounds...but the heartbroken single dad has more than his share of trust issues. The playboy only lets one girl close to his iced-over heart—his pint-sized daughter who’s the center of his world. She’s the only thing more important to him than hockey, and he trusts no one with her...except me.

We’ve been friends since we were kids, and I love his daughter like she’s my own, so what’s the easiest solution to help Gage out? Move in and be his live-in nanny for the season. As far as she goes, the arrangement is perfect. But her drop-dead-sexy father? Frustrating on every possible level.

There is a thick, professional line drawn between us by his own hand, and despite understanding the terms, my body is practically begging him to cross it. Our chemistry is off the charts, but one misstep, and we could hurt the one person we love most. This game is all-or-nothing. Can I risk my heart on a guy who is known for the shut-out, on and off the ice?
Thoughts on Grinder: I like sexy, growly hockey players who also happen to be kickass dads. Buuuut, I'm not sure how I feel about Gage taking his hookups home for some one on one time while his daughter was in the house. Especially considering there was zero chance he was planning on seeing said hookups again. That's a recipe for disaster, hunky hockey dude. A recipe for disaster.

Fortunately for Gage, he escaped any issues with that. Mostly because Bailey took care of things. Which makes her a-okay in my book. Come to think of it, once Gage realized he had feeeeeeelings for Bailey, she was a-okay in his book, too. And I, who am mortally opposed to keeping big secrets in books, actually didn't mind the one he kept. I could see where he was coming from. He was actually very upfront about everything, just not in the way Bailey thought.

That said, I also got Bailey's hurt. If someone took away even the hope of ever achieving a dream, it's easy to see how deeply that could cut.

Bottom line: Sexy, growly hockey players do it for me. Especially when they're also awesome dads who find their match in a big-hearted, determined lady.