Sunday, May 20, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (05/20/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Bout of Books 22 is coming to an end and it's been another great one! If you like books and bookish things, you should TOTALLY join us in August for Bout of Books 23!

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Write On Review-a-thon [52]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, May 25th to Sunday, May 27th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, May 18, 2018

Piece of Work by Staci Hart [Review]

 Piece of Work by Staci Hart
Piece of Work by Staci Hart
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: May 8, 2018

Purchase links: Kindle

Staci Hart
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Marble isn’t the only thing that’s hard at this museum.

His body is as chiseled as Adonis. His lips are as sculpted as David. And his ego is the size of the Guggenheim.

You know the type—wolfish smile and the gravity of a black hole. The kind of man who sucks all the air from the room the second he enters it. My cocky boss thinks this internship was wasted on me, and he doesn’t hesitate to let me know.

But he’s wrong, and I’m going to prove it to him. If I can stay away from his devil lips, that is. Lips that cut me down and kiss me in the same breath, leaving me certain he’s on a mission to ruin my life.

And maybe my heart.
Thoughts on Piece of Work: While it's not surprise that I like ANYTHING Staci Hart writes, I'm particularly enamored of Rin and Court's story. Something about these two and the push and pull of their relationship grabbed me by the feels and squeezed. HARD.

Rin in painfully self-conscious when we first meet her. PAINFULLY. Court looks right through her in their first meeting and she's glad because he's so out of her league (in her opinion) that anything else is unfathomable. Then he gets to see how her brilliant, beautiful mind works and, well, he's intrigued.

And once she steps outside the college persona she's cultivated after years of being in an academic setting and makes a conscious decision to try to be the person she wants to be, he's intrigued by a whole lot more than her mind.

I honestly loved Rin's transformation. Even after she takes the first steps toward her new self, she's plagued by doubts. Her friends are FANTASTIC. They pick her up when she stumbles (which happens a LOT, poor lady) and are just this outstanding support system overall. They're the ones who remind her she can be more than she was when she gets down on herself and I LOOOOOVE that.

Women helping women are my THANG.

Rin and Court worked on a lot of levels for me. He's jaded and wary (with good reason) (also, his dad and that whole dynamic give me a sour lemon face) while Rin is disarmingly open about things. He's used to being in the spotlight, she's content to remain invisible. Until she isn't.

Staci Hart continues to bring her A game and I'm beyond thrilled to get to dive into the worlds she creates.

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Spotlight On...Piece of Work by Staci Hart [Release]

Piece of Work is LIVE!

Piece of Work
Staci Hart
Publication Date: May 17, 2018
Genre: Romance
Add to Goodreads

Marble isn’t the only thing that’s hard at this museum.

His body is as chiseled as Adonis. His lips are as sculpted as David. And his ego is the size of the Guggenheim.

You know the type—wolfish smile and the gravity of a black hole. The kind of man who sucks all the air from the room the second he enters it. My cocky boss thinks this internship was wasted on me, and he doesn’t hesitate to let me know.

But he’s wrong, and I’m going to prove it to him. If I can stay away from his devil lips, that is. Lips that cut me down and kiss me in the same breath, leaving me certain he’s on a mission to ruin my life.

And maybe my heart, too.

You can grab your copy of Piece of Work today on Amazon!



About the Author

Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life -- a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can't forget that. She's also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She's been a wife, though she's certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She's also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she's been drinking whiskey. When she's not writing, she's reading, sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.




The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare [Review]

 The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare
The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke #1) by Tessa Dare
Format: paperback
Source: provided by the publisher
Date read: July 24, 2017

Girl Meets Duke
1. The Duchess Deal - Paperback | Kindle

Tessa Dare
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When girl meets Duke, their marriage breaks all the rules…

Since his return from war, the Duke of Ashbury’s to-do list has been short and anything but sweet: brooding, glowering, menacing London ne’er-do-wells by night. Now there’s a new item on the list. He needs an heir—which means he needs a wife. When Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress, appears in his library wearing a wedding gown, he decides on the spot that she’ll do.

His terms are simple:
- They will be husband and wife by night only.
- No lights, no kissing.
- No questions about his battle scars.
- Last, and most importantly… Once she’s pregnant with his heir, they need never share a bed again.


But Emma is no pushover. She has a few rules of her own:
- They will have dinner together every evening.
- With conversation.
- And unlimited teasing.
- Last, and most importantly… Once she’s seen the man beneath the scars, he can’t stop her from falling in love…
Thoughts on The Duchess Deal: Ash and Emma were ADORABLE together. But, then, I have a soft spot for growly, brooding men and the women who give them ridiculous pet names. Honestly, Emma's increasingly off the wall nicknames for him had me laughing. Hard. And his ... quiet horror at some of them made me laugh even harder.

But this isn't all pet names and laughter. Ash isn't the usual perfect Duke. He's scarred. He's surly. He's very, very lucky Emma crossed his path when she did. While she ticked off all the boxes he thought he needed in a wife, she also had a backbone of steel and she wasn't about to let him get away with some of the things he tried to get away with.

Her charming openness takes him off guard. Her acceptance of his scars goes a long way toward shocking him back into the world of the living. AND THOSE NICKNAMES. He pretends to dislike them, but we all know differently.

I'm generally enamored of all Tessa Dare's books and this one was no different. Ash and Emma were sweet and silly and absolutely perfect together.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Spotlight On...Cocktales - A Cocky Collective


Cocktales, a limited-release anthology of original, never before published material, from some of your favorite bestselling authors is coming May 26th!

Cocktales Anthology

Publishing Date: May 26th

Cover Designer: CD Reiss

Each story was specifically written for this anthology.
The goal of the Cocktales Anthology is to raise funds to fight against obstruction of creative expression. Specifically, what we believe are obstruction attempts through the trademarking of common (single) words for titicular use in books / or as a book series (eBooks, print, and audio).
Cocktales will only be available May 26th-August 26th.

Pre-order your copy today


Add to Goodreads

Contributing Authors Include

Nana Malone, USA Today Bestselling author – Foreword
Dylan Allen – 'Cocked and Loaded'
Jana Aston, NYT, WSJ, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Double Cocked'
Whitney Barbetti – 'Cocksure Grin'
Author Sawyer Bennett, NYT, WSJ, USA Today Bestselling author – 'A Wicked, Cocky Plan'
K.f. Breene, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Magical Cock and Bull'
Ruth Clampett, Amazon top 20 Bestselling Author – 'Don’t Get Cocky'
L.H. Cosway, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Illusionist Seeks Neanderthal'
Mariah Dietz – 'Landmines'
Amy Daws, Amazon Top 25 Bestselling author – 'Cock and Balls'
BB Easton, Amazon Top 100 Bestselling author – 'Cocky BB: Two Boys, One Prom.'
Jaymin Eve, USA Today Bestselling author – 'The Cockier the Dragon, the Harder They Fall'
Emma Hart, NYT and USA Today Bestselling author – 'Tricky Bond'
Staci Hart, Amazon Top 10 Bestselling author – 'Cockamamie'
Jessica Hawkins, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Cocky Couture'
Julie Johnson Amazon Top 100 Bestselling author – 'Culinary Cock-Up'
Karpov Kinrade, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Crimson Cocktail'
Adriana Locke, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Swag'
Lex Martin, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Love & Hate at the Stallion Station'
Aly Martinez, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Going Down'
Katyi McGee - USA Today Bestselling author – 'Cocksure Co-Star'
Corinne Michaels, NYT, WSJ, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Cockblocked'
Liv Morris, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Getting It Up'
Red Phoenix, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Her Cocky Russian'
Daisy Prescott, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Confessions of a Cockblocked Wingman'
Jessica Prince – ‘A Cocky Corruption Engagement’
Meghan Quinn, Amazon Top 20 Bestselling Author – 'Fight or Flight'
CD Reiss, NYT and USA Today Bestselling author – 'Cocky Capo'
Penny Reid, WSJ and USA Today Bestselling author – 'Beard and Hen'
Julie Richman, USA Today Bestselling author – 'The Color of Love'
Aleatha Romig, NYT, WSJ, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Aligned'
Kennedy Ryan, Top 40 Amazon Bestselling author – 'All'
Kylie Scott, NYT, WSJ, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Short Story with Mal and Anne from The Stage Dive Series'
Sierra Simone, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Until the Cock Crows'
Tara Sivec, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Chocolate and Cockup'
Kate Stewart, Amazon Top 30 Bestselling author – 'The Golden Sombrero'
Leia Stone, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Cocky Alpha'
Karla Sorensen – 'Tristan & Anna: A Bachelors of the Ridge short story'
Rachel Van Dyken, NYT, WSJ, USA Today Bestselling author – 'Cocky Mafia'
April White, Amazon Top 100 Bestselling author – 'Code of Conduct'



*ALL* net profits will be donated to:
Authors already impacted by creative-obstruction (10%), and Romance Writers of America (RWA) (90%) as a general donation intended for their Advocacy Fund.
*Disclaimer: This anthology is not being conducted on behalf of RWA, nor does RWA endorse this anthology or effort. They have, however, graciously agreed to accept the funds.
For more information, visit: https://www.cockyauthors.com

Mikolos by Ruby Lionsdrake [Review]

 Mikolos by Ruby Lionsdrake
Mikolos (Star Guardians Novella) by Ruby Lionsdrake
Format: ebook
Source: free to newsletter subscribers
Date read: July 22, 2017

Star Guardians
Mikolos - newsletter signup
1. Orion
2. Treyjon
3. Sagitta
4. Hierax
5. Zakota

Ruby Lionsdrake
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Ruolan the Retriever, best locator of stolen objects on her moon, dreams of joining the Star Guardians, elite law enforcers who fly to the ends of the galaxy to catch criminals and protect humanity. Falling for a hunky but aloof Star Guardian named Mikolos? That was not part of the plan.

But when she joins forces with him to retrieve his captain’s stolen orders, they’re soon embroiled in a deadly adventure, one that leaves her and Mikolos depending on each other for their lives. As the reserved Star Guardian comes to respect her, she finds herself wondering if she can have him and still achieve her dream.
Thoughts on Mikolos: I liiiiike these Star Guardians. They can be loud and brash or more on the quiet side, but they're always good in a fight. Or when you're being harassed in the sewers that aren't sewers. Or, you know, whenever.

But this isn't all about Mikolos, because Ru is pretty awesome. A street rat who's made a name for herself as a retriever on the rough moon she's grown up on, she's determined to find a way to be a Star Guardian. Meeting Mikolos is a stroke of luck since he might be able to give her some pointers as to how someone like her would go about getting noticed by them.

Then things go a little wonky and soon the two of them are on a cross-city trek to retrieve valuable orders. Given her skill at finding and returning lost items, Ru dazzles Mikolos with her abilities. It's kind of sweet. And maybe a little sexy.

What can I say? I like when two people who share an attraction are forced into close quarters. Plus, Mikolos was sort of endearingly sweet in his excitement over finding the bits and pieces of scrap. His hobby looks good on him. Turns out Ru looks pretty good on him too. *wink wink*